December 9, 2013 Board Minutes



December 9, 2013


President Lundahl called the regular meeting of the board to order at 7:04 p.m.  Evans, Funk, Lundahl, Peasley and Smiarowski answered roll call.  Also present were Superintendent Miller, Principal Hunt, Lovett, Willa Clark, Rosa Sondag, Mona Baker, Kelsey Gehlhaar, Jaelah Funk, Taylor Jackson, Nate Castor, Maxwell Richardson and Diane Cowling.

Senior class representatives were present to ask approval for their tentative senior trip and for a fund raiser.  The class is planning on spending three nights at a resort in The Lake of the Ozarks.  Activities they are considering are horseback riding, go carting, a water park.  The students also asked for permission to hold a live auction to help raise money for their trip.  Items to be auctioned will be made or supplied by the students.  President Lundahl thanked the students for attending.

Sponsors Rosa Sondag and Mona Baker along with FFA students, Nate Castor and Maxwell Richardson presented a slide show from the FFA National Convention.  Both boys along with Tanner Loghry had helped create the presentation showing programming and learning opportunities from the convention.  President Lundahl thanked the sponsors for their hard work and the students for the presentation.

Funk moved to approve the agenda and minutes from the previous meeting.  Evans made the second.  All voted aye.

Following a brief discussion Evans moved to approve the bills of accounting and financial report.  Smiarowski made the second.  All voted aye.

Mr. Miller highlighted individual policies in the 500 Series of Board Policy for discussion.  Funk moved to approve the second reading of the 500 series of Board Policy with the discussed revisions.  Smiarowski made the second.  All voted aye.

Smiarowski moved to approve the first reading of the 600 Series of Board Policy.  Smiarowski made the second.  All voted aye.

The board reviewed bids for diesel fuel for January 1, 2014 through December 31st 2014.  Evans moved to accept the low of #2 diesel @ $3.195 per gallon and #1 diesel @$3.395 submitted by Agriland Farm Service.  The second was made by Smiarowski.  All voted aye.  MFA Oil Company came in at $3.31 for #2 diesel and $3.71 for #1 diesel delivered off the truck.

Principal Hunt presented the Mobile Learning Device Agreements and Policies for the board to review.  Superintendent Miller recommended eliminating any deposit or fee from students for the use of a Chrome Book.  Students and parents will be responsible for all repairs or replacement of the Chrome Book issued to the student.  Smiarowski moved to approve the Mobile Learning Device Agreement and Policies with the change to deposit and repair/replacement policy.  Evans made the second.  All voted aye.

Smiarowski moved to approve the proposed senior trip and fundraiser.  Evans made the second.  All voted aye.

Evans moved to approve Kathleen Hood for the evening custodial position at Garden Grove.  Funk made the second.  All voted aye.

Peasley moved to approve Carla Paugh as a reading interventionist at the elementary.  Mrs. Paugh will work with students on a part-time basis.  She will be paid through SINA funding.  Smiarowski made the second.  All voted ayePrincipal Snyder was absent but had submitted written reports.

Principal Hunt highlighted the following from his written report:

  • The Christmas program was held December 5th.  The program was very good and enjoyed by all.
  • Semester test will be held next week with the end of the first semester December 20th.
  • FCCLA attend national convention.

Mr. Miller reported the Chrome Books are in and plans are moving forward for student use.  He also reported he has been looking at ways to make the gym at the high school more useable by improving the acoustic.  Thus far all proposals for spray foam and sound panels have ranged from $24,000 to $28,000.

Smiarowski moved to adjourn the meeting.  Funk made the second.  All voted aye.


President Lundahl adjourned the meeting at 9:04 p.m.


The next regular meeting will be January 13, 2014 in the elementary library at 7:00 p.m.