January 2016 Minutes

Mormon Trail Community School Board Work Session

January 8, 2016

The Mormon Trail Board of Education met January 8, 2016 in the Elementary Library for a board work session. President Smiarowski opened the workshop at 5:07 p.m. Board members Lundahl, Peasley, Funk were also present. Director Evans joined the work session at 5:20 p.m. Secretary Rash and Superintendent, Paxson were also present. Harry Heiligenthal from the Iowa Association of School Boards conducted the workshop which focused on Board duties and responsibilities. Peasley moved to adjourn the work session with Funk seconding. All voted in favor. President Smiarowski closed the session at 7:35 p.m.


January 11, 2016

Smiarowski opened the public hearing to consider the Resolution of Continued Participation in the Instructional Support Levy Program (ISL) at 7:15 p.m. There were no district patrons present to discuss the proposed resolution. Lundahl moved to close the meeting seconded by Peasley. Board members Lundahl, Evans, Funk, Peasley and Smiarowski voted aye to close the public hearing at 7:23 p.m.



January 11, 2016

President Smiarowski called the regular meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors to order at 7:30 p.m. in the Humeston Elementary Library. Board members Funk, Evans, Peasley and Lundahl were also present. Superintendent, Lorna Paxson, Principals Mike Snyder and Steve Hunt and Board Secretary, Peggy Rash were in attendance. Jason Selby, Humeston New Era and David Woods were visitors. David Woods was present to discuss and to answer questions about a semi-pro football team he would like to start up in Southern Iowa. He would like to use the school’s facilities for team practices and games May-July. Lundahl made a motion to remove item #4 and to approve the agenda with Funk seconding. All voted aye. Funk made a motion to approve the consent agenda which included approval of previous meeting minutes and to accept the resignations of Kevin Armbrester, Humeston Custodian and Brad Krutsinger, HS Baseball coach. Lundahl seconded the motion to approve with all present voting aye Lundahl made a motion to approve the month’s financial reports. The motion was seconded by Peasley with all voting aye. After a brief discussion about the expenditures presented for payment, Lundahl motioned to approve the bills for the month of January. Evans seconded with all present voting aye. Lundahl moved to adopt the Instructional Support Program Levy Resolution of Participation, seconded by Funk. A roll call vote was taken with the following votes. Peasley aye, Lundahl aye, Funk aye, Evans aye and Smiarowski aye. The motion carried and the resolution was adopted. The Mormon Trail CSD will continue the current instructional Support Levy for five years. There was no action taken on item #5. The Board will continue to review and make recommendations to Board Policies No. 905.1; 905.1R1; 905.1R2; 905.1E1; and 905.1E2. (Facility Use) Lundahl made a motion to change the signatures on Financial Institutions for the Nutrition and Activity Funds to include Marc Smiarowski and Peggy Rash. Lori Reed will be removed. The motion was seconded by Peasley with all voting aye. The change will take place as soon as Great Western Bank and the District’s software program are able to make the change. Evans moved to advertise for a head coach and an assistant coach or two co-coaches for HS boys and girls track this spring. The track schedules often have the teams traveling in different directions on the same day. Peasley seconded with all voting in favor of the motion. No action on item #8. Discussion will be continued once more information is available concerning the use of facilities requested by David Woods. Administrative reports were given by Superintendent Paxson and Principals Steve Hunt and Mike Snyder. Funk motioned that the meeting be adjourned. Lundahl seconded with all voting aye. Smiarowski adjourned the meeting 9:16 pm. The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors will be held February 8th 2016 @ 7:30 p.m. in the Elementary Library preceded by a workshop at 7:00 p.m.

____________________________ ___________________________

President, Board of Education Secretary, Board of Education

_________ _________

Date Date

These minutes are written as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next

regular board meeting.   Peggy Rash, Board Secretary/Treasurer