June 8 Minutes



June 8, 2015

Board Minutes


President Jan Lundahl called the regular meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors to order at 7:45 p.m. in the Humeston Elementary Library. Members Peasley, Funk, Evans and Lundahl were present. Also in attendance were Superintendent Miller, Principal Hunt and Secretary Rash. Linda Grismore was also present. Board member, Marc Smiarowski was absent.


There was no public comment on the FY 2015-16 calendar approved by the Board in April. No further action is required.


Funk made a motion to approve the consent agenda which included agenda approval, approval of the May Board minutes and open enrollment in/out requests which meet all criteria. Peasley seconded the motion to approve with all present voting in favor.


Funk moved to approve and Peasley seconded the motion to approve the month’s bills of accounting. All voted aye.


Evans made the motion to approve the resignations of Denise Becker, JH and Consumer Math and Terrel Vette, Secondary Special Education teacher. Robert Thatcher’s resignation for both Cross Country and Boys and Girls HS track was also accepted in the motion. With regret, Peasley seconded the motion. All voted aye.


Evans made a motion to approve an offer to Deb Morgan for the JH math teaching position providing Morgan meet all licensing requirements. Funk seconded the motion. Motion carries with 2 voting in favor, Lundahl abstaining and Peasley voting nay.


A contract extending the time in the District from 1½ days to 2 days per week for new Superintendent, Lorna Paxson was approved. Salary was increased from $27,000 to $33,000. Other terms of the agreement discussed included 104 days of service, including 8 paid vacation days and 10 additional days of leave is granted to be used for personal, sick, family and bereavement leave. Paxson will receive a stipend of $3000 in place of medical benefits and a $3600 mileage allowance. The one-year contract runs from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016. Funk made the motion to approve the contract and benefits with Peasley seconding. All present voted aye.


Peasley made a motion to have Secretary Rash issue contracts to Mike Snyder, Driver’s Ed @ $165 per student, Adam Hysell, HS Summer School @ $20 per hour and for the volunteer Cheerleading sponsor position @ $0. Evans seconded the motion. All voted aye. Volunteer positions are required to have contracts in order to be included in the District’s insurance policy.


A motion made by Peasley to approve the Business Office paying normal and recurring bills at year end (June 30) was seconded by Funk. All voted aye.


Next on the agenda was the discussion of new playground equipment and improvements to the playground area. Money has been earned by the Elementary students through many years of fundraising and the additional money needed to finish the initial stage of the project was recently received in a grant from the Langtry Foundation. Superintendent Miller briefly discussed ideas for making the area a safer and more usable space for the Elementary students. Further discussion was tabled until the July meeting so incoming Superintendent, Lorna Paxson, could give her input on the final stages of the project. Evans made a motion and Peasley seconded the motion that the Business Office could make any initial payments necessary to get the playground equipment delivered and ready to install in early August so that it would be ready by the time school starts August 26th. All voted aye.


Superintendent Miller presented the Board with information from the follow-up inspection to the site visit last spring, 2014. Funk made a motion to approve the Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action (EEO/AA) update required which also included a mandatory update to Board Policy, Code 102. Miller reported that the bathroom in the new shop addition needs to be finished and signage to the front entrances needs to be added for handicap accessibility. These additional updates need to be completed by August 30, 2015. The motion was seconded by Evans. All present voted in favor of the motion.


Secondary Principal Steve Hunt presented his administrative report to the Board. He reported that the Golf team ended a good season by qualifying to compete in District golf for the first time in 4 years. He commended the team for their enthusiasm and good sportsmanship. Hunt also reported that several students were participating in the high school summer school program being taught by Adam Hysell. The program will continue through the last week in June. Hunt reported that several secondary teachers applied for, and received, grants from the Langtry Foundation. In addition to the generous amount donated to the Elementary Playground Fund, the Foundation also approved grants for new risers for the Music Dept, books for Mrs. Porterfield’s reading room, Library books, Computers, and also granted the balance of funds needed to purchase a racing wheelchair for a Mormon Trail student athlete. This student went on to compete at and win the State Title in her division. The school is very appreciative of the generosity of the Langtry Foundation. Hunt finished up by saying that summer projects, getting ready for next school year, were in full swing at the Garden Grove building.


Mike Snyder was not present as he was attending the baseball/softball game hosted by Mormon Trail.


Superintendent Miller, who will be leaving the District on June 30, expressed his appreciation and thanks to Linda Grismore and the New Era for all they do for the school, The Board, The Community, and the Staff and Students of the Mormon Trail CSD. He concluded the meeting by wishing everyone the best.

Evans made the motion to adjourn with Peasley seconding the motion. All voted aye and President Lundahl adjourned the meeting at 9 p.m.


The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors will be held July 13th @ 7:30 p.m. in the Elementary Library.





____________________________                    ___________________________

President, Board of Education                                       Secretary, Board of Education












These minutes are written as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting.   Peggy Rash, Board Secretary/Treasurer