May 11 Minutes



May 11, 2015

Board Minutes


President Lundahl called the regular meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors to order at 7:35 p.m. in the Humeston Elementary Library. Board members Peasley, Funk, Smiarowski, Evans and Lundahl were present. Also in attendance were Superintendent Miller, Principals Hunt and Snyder and Secretary Rash. Lorna Paxson, Brad Krutsinger, Steven Neilssen, Christine Auxier, Rachel Graham and Linda Grismore were also present.


Lundahl welcomed the guests, including Lorna Paxson, who will be the incoming Superintendent for the District beginning July 1, 2015.


Christine Auxier was present to address the Board about next year’s Kindergarten class. Currently there are two preschool classes that will combine into a single Kindergarten class next school year. She asked that the school keep an eye on enrollment numbers and be proactive in making sure there is enough staff to handle this larger than normal group of students.


Brad Krutsinger, representing the Mormon Trail Education Association, spoke to the Board about negotiations. He reported that an agreement for the 2015-16 school year has been worked out pending approval of the Board.


Funk made a motion to approve the consent agenda which included agenda approval, approval of the April minutes and open enrollment. Evans seconded the motion to approve with all present voting in favor.


Smiarowski moved to approve and Funk seconded the motion to make the following changes to the FY 2015-16 Master Agreement between the Mormon Trail Education Association and the Mormon Trail Community School District Board of Directors. All present voted aye.

  1. There will be a minimum of 1080 student teaching hours required.
  2. Teachers will work a total of 190 days.

Previously teachers were required to work 191 days and newly appointed employees had to attend an additional one (1) day of orientation.

  1. All employees will receive one (1) additional personal day for the 2015-16 school year. Any unused personal days will be paid at $25 per day for up to two (2) days. In 2016-17 personal leave will revert back to two (2) personal days.
  2. Schedule A: The base salary (BA, Step 1) for the combined schedule will be $35,500. The generator base will be$31,471.
  3. Schedule B: The base salary will remain the same at $28,650.
  4. Those eligible for Medical benefits will continue to receive the current District provided plan at no cost to the employee. Premiums for the District’s plan rose a modest 2.26% for FY 2015-16. The additional cost of $157.20 per employee, per plan year, will be paid by the District.
  5. All hourly employees will receive a 15 cent per hour across the board increase in their current rate of pay. Additional costs for IPERS and FICA will be paid by the District to bring the total new costs of the combined package to a little less than $10,000 for FY2015-16.


The motion included approving Schedule A staff and Academic supplemental pay assignments for Schedule B. Coaching contracts, which are part of Schedule B, were tabled and will be approved at a later date.


After discussing the monthly bills presented for payment, Evans made a motion to approve the month’s bills of accounting. The motion was seconded by Peasley with all voting aye.


Next on the agenda was the consideration of a contract amendment to a three-year contract with Brian Carson, Junior Court Liaison. Carson is shared with Central Decatur. Peasley made the motion to approve. Funk seconded the motion. All voted aye.


A bid of $12 was accepted for 12 Apple ibooks that the District no longer needs. No bids were received for a condensing unit. Smiarowski made the motion with Evans seconding. The motion carried with all voting aye.


Funk made a motion to accept the recommendation of Superintendent Miller to terminate the contract of staff member, Sarah Crockett, 4th grade teacher. Reasons listed were declining enrollment, reduction and/or realignment of staff resources and reallocation of District resources. Peasley seconded the motion. Evans, Peasley, Funk, Smiarowski and Lundahl voted yes. Motion carried.


Smiarowski made a motion to approve the list of Mormon Trail Seniors for graduation. Peasley seconded the motion. All present voted aye.


An audit proposal submitted by Stephanie Mendenhall, CPA, for conducting the Districts audit for FY 2014-15 was approved. Evans made the motion with Peasley seconding. All voted aye.


A motion by Evans to approve a required update to Board Policy 601.1 was seconded by Peasley. All present voted in favor. The update is required by Iowa Code 279.10 as amended by Senate File 227 regarding the school calendar.


Smiarowski made a motion to reschedule the Public Hearing for the 2015-16 School Calendar for June 8th at 7:30. The hearing for public comment will be held in the Humeston Elementary prior to the next Board meeting. Evans seconded the motion with all voting aye.


A Public Hearing date for the continuation of the District’s Instructional Support Levy will be discussed at a later date.

Administrative reports were given by Principals Hunt and Snyder. Snyder also reported on athletics, inviting everyone to stay in touch with what events are taking place this summer by visiting


Superintendent Miller commended Brad Krutsinger and the Mormon Trail Education Association for their handling of the collective bargaining process. He also extended his thanks to all staff for their dedication to the Mormon Trail CSD. Miller also thanked the School Board for all they do. May is School Board recognition month. In closing, Miller welcomed Lorna Paxson to the Mormon Trail Community and wished her well.

Smiarowski made the motion to adjourn with Funk seconding the motion. All voted aye and President Lundahl adjourned the meeting at 9:08pm.







The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors will be held June 8th @ 7:45 p.m. preceded by a Public Hearing for the School Calendar at 7:30 the Elementary Library.





____________________________                    ___________________________

President, Board of Education                                       Secretary, Board of Education












These minutes are written as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting.   Peggy Rash, Board Secretary/Treasurer