Sept. 12 Minutes



September 12, 2016



President Smiarowski called the Annual Meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. in the Humeston Elementary Library. Roll call was answered by Peasley, Funk, Lundahl and Smiarowski. Evans entered the meeting at 7:34. Also present were Superintendent Paxson, Principals Hunt and Stripe, Secretary Rash, and guests Mona Baker and Linda Horton, correspondent for the Humeston New Era. President Smiarowski welcomed FFA advisor Mona Baker to the meeting. Baker said FFA is a self-supporting organization and has two fundraisers coming up. Their mum sale runs from Sept 8-26 followed by their annual fruit & cheese sale which starts Sept 30 and ends Oct 24. Baker said the fruit and cheese sale is unique in that sales may be placed online and items shipped directly to you if you do not live in this area. Baker told the group she would like to take a group to the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana in October. She is looking at taking 3-4 members who would partake in several fun events, as well as, educational presentations at the Convention. Baker would drive a school vehicle which would help keep costs down to around $250 per member. The Convention is October 19-22. Lundahl made a motion to amend the agenda by adding discussion concerning Friday’s Homecoming bus schedule. Funk seconded with all approving. Funk moved to approve the consent agenda that included minutes from the previous regular and special meetings and open enrollment in/out that meet all requirements. The second came from Evans with all voting aye. Next on the agenda are consent items that require discussion and action by the Board. Lundahl moved to approve the bills of accounting for September. Peasley made the second. All voted aye. Lundahl also motioned to approve the financial report for September. Evans seconded with all present voting aye. A motion to approve the June 30, 2016 Depository Report was made by Lundahl. Funk seconded the motion with all voting in favor. Motion carries. Funk made a motion to approve the following new hires: Route van driver- Bill Moore, Para-educators Jenna Street and Tabatha Groves, Night Custodian-Willie Neinas, Volunteer JH Football Coach-Jason Newton. Peasley seconded and all members voted in favor. Discussion moved to Mona Baker’s request to attend the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana In October. Lundahl made the motion to grant the request to attend by Baker. Peasley seconded. All voted in favor. Motion carries. Legislative priorities were tabled pending Board feedback due to Superintendent Paxson Friday, 16th. Membership in the Iowa Authentic Intellectual Work Consortium was approved after a motion by Lundahl and a second by Peasley was unanimously voted in favor of. Paxson will serve on the Iowa AIW Board. The Consortium will provide professional development support to District teachers. Evans made a motion to approve the following annual appointments: School District Attorney – Verle Norris, Humeston & Ahlers Law Firm, Des Moines Official Publication – Humeston New Era, Resolution to approve Depositories presented by Funk Great Western Bank $2,000,000 ISJIT $2,000,000, Peasley seconded the motion. All voted aye. Item #9 which was added to the agenda discussed changing Friday, Sept 16th, Homecoming Day, from an early out to a full day so that all students could participate in afternoon Homecoming activities. Evans made the motion to change the 16th to a full day on the District’s calendar. Funk seconded with all in attendance voting in favor of the motion. Superintendent Paxson gave a brief update on the football/softball/baseball lighting project. The state mandates that certain guidelines are followed. A company must be hired to draw up plans and bids taken for the actual work. Administrative reports were given by Becky Stripe, Elementary Principal and Steve Hunt, Secondary Principal. Athletic Director Mike Snyder submitted a written report also. District Superintendent, Lorna Paxson reported that the District’s CAR, Transportation report and Special Ed Supplemental report have been timely filed with the Department of Education. Auditors will be here the week of October 12th. Paxson reported to the Board that the District had received a $4349.94 safety and claim free rebate check from EMC Insurance this month. Funk moved to adjourn the meeting with Peasley seconding the motion. All present voted aye and President Smiarowski closed the meeting at 8:58 pm.

Organization meeting minutes


Secretary Rash called the 2017 Organizational meeting of the Mormon Trail CSD to order at 9:03 pm. Board members Funk, Smiarowski, Peasley, Evans and Lundahl answered roll call. Rash opened the floor to nominations for President. Jan Lundahl nominated Marc Smiarowski. With no further nominations Rash closed nominations and a vote was taken. All present voted in favor of Smiarowski serving his second term as President of the Mormon Trail CSD Board of Directors. Secretary Rash administered the Oath of office to Smiarowski. President Smiarowski then called for nominations for Vice President. Funk nominated Pat Evans. Smiarowski closed nominations and ask that a vote be taken. All voted in favor to have Evans serve as Vice President. Smiarowski appointed Peggy Rash to serve as Board Secretary and Treasurer. Evans seconded and everyone voted aye. The oath was then given to Evans and Rash by Smiarowski. There was no new business brought forward. It was agreed that the Board would continue to meet the 2nd Monday of each month @ 7:30 p.m. in the Humeston Elementary Library. The motion was made by Peasley and seconded by Funk. Motion carried with all voting in favor. Lundahl made a motion to adjourn with Peasley seconding. All say aye. President Smiarowski adjourned the meeting at 9:10 pm. The next meeting of the Mormon Trail Board of Directors will be held October 10th @ 7:30 pm in the Elementary Library.






____________________________                    ___________________________

President, Board of Education                                       Secretary, Board of Education








These minutes are written as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting.   Peggy Rash, Board Secretary/Treasurer