Special July 20 Board Minutes

Mormon Trail Community School District

Special Meeting

July 20, 2017


The Mormon Trail School Board met in special session July 20, 2017 at the Humeston Public Library. President Smiarowski called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. Evans, Peasley, Lundahl and Smiarowski answered roll call. Funk entered the meeting at 5:35. Secretary Rash and Principals Stripe and Hunt were also present. Linda Horton, Humeston New Era was in attendance as were numerous guests to observe Superintendent candidate interviews. Lundahl made a motion to approve the agenda with Peasley seconding. Evans, Peasley, Lundahl and Smiarowski voted aye. Funk had not entered the meeting at the time of the vote. Motion carries. Smiarowski opened the meeting by explaining to the guests the rules for the evening. Guests could not comment or ask questions during the interviews but were welcome to fill out the feedback forms they had received for each candidate. Each of the three candidates was allotted approximately 45 minutes and then there would be a 5 minute break between each candidate. The Board was instructed to ask questions from a list compiled prior to the meeting. Smiarowski proceeded by asking the first candidate to tell the group about himself. The Board interviewed three candidates for Superintendent. At 8:40 pm a motion was made by Evans and seconded by Lundahl to enter closed session pursuant to IOWA CODE 21.5 (l) (a) under the confidential records exception. The vote was Evans yes; Funk yes; Peasley yes; Lundahl yes; and Smiarowski yes. Motion carries and the Board entered closed session. The Board returned to open session at 9:18 pm. Funk made a motion to adjourn with Peasley seconding. All voted aye. Smiarowski closed the meeting at 9:19 p.m.




____________________________                    ___________________________

President, Board of Education                                Secretary, Board of Education













These minutes are written as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting.   Peggy Rash, Board Secretary/Treasurer